Ten Massachusetts students have been awarded $23,750 in scholarship aid from the Charles C. Ely Trust.

Page Content 1
Ten undergraduate Babson students were selected to receive scholarships from the Charles C. Ely Trust, totaling $23,750, for the 2011-2012 academic year.
The students were nominated by Babson’s Student Financial Services office on the basis of academic merit, character, leadership abilities, and financial need. All 10 nominees were selected to receive the scholarship. They are Massachusetts residents:
·       John J. Nixon, III, Foxboro   
·       Andrew Oram, Worcester     
·       Joseph L. Blundo, Winchester   
·       Patrick Doherty, Arlington
·       James Hilton, Millis
·       Andrei A. Komlev, Newton
·       Van Michael Nguyen, Newton
·       Dean Chaffee, Lexington
·       Thomas J. Duquette, Waltham
·       Mitchell McKinnon, Beverly
The awardees expressed gratitude for the opportunities the scholarship provides that otherwise would be unreachable for them. The generosity of the Ely Trust will have a lasting impact on them and on their families. Several also showed eagerness to become scholarship donors offering opportunities like these to others in the future.
The Charles C. Ely Trust, established in 1987, is an independent Boston charitable organization established at the behest of Charles C. Ely, of Brookline, Massachusetts, upon his death. Scholarship awards are granted to Massachusetts residents who are students at degree-granting institutions of higher education in the Boston area “for the purpose of helping and assisting worthy and deserving young men of good character to obtain a more complete and thorough education or training than they might otherwise be able to obtain.”

By Nancy Sullivan, sullivann@babson.edu, 781-239-4623 | 12/20/2011 05:30