Skip Navigation LinksHome / Academics / Centers and Institutes / The Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship / Academy of Distinguished Entrepreneurs

Academy of Distinguished Entrepreneurs®

In 1978, Babson College, established the world’s first entrepreneurship hall of fame, the Academy of Distinguished Entrepreneurs (ADE).

On November 12, 2015, the ADE inducted two new members into the entrepreneurship hall of fame, Dorothy Cann Hamilton, founder & CEO of the International Culinary Center, and Doug Rauch, past president of Trader Joe’s, founder of Daily Table, and CEO of Conscious Capitalism.

 Academy of Distinguished Entrepreneurs 2015 Ceremony

Individual Speeches

Dorothy Cann Hamilton »Dorothy Cann Hamilton

Doug Rauch »Doug Rauch

 Babson Entrepreneurship Forum 2015 Morning Keynote

 ADE 2015 Photos by Joseph Nadel

About the Academy of Distinguished Entrepreneurs

Since its inception, the academy has recognized and honored entrepreneurs who have contributed significantly to the development of free enterprise throughout the world.

Nominations of world-class entrepreneurs who have created great economic and social value are solicited from the Babson community as well as from outside the institution. Through the years, Babson has celebrated entrepreneurs of all kinds as illustrated by the impressive list of inductees. Collectively, the 98 members of the academy have created millions of jobs and improved societies around the world.

Many of the most successful and visible entrepreneurs in the world are members of the academy. They represent companies that are some of the most highly regarded in their industry and household icons in their culture. These members have capitalized on the need for change, accepted the associated risk and responsibility, and made an impact on the world. The energy and innovation embodied by these individuals will be appreciated and applauded for many generations to come.