Skip Navigation LinksHome / Alumni & Friends / Groups and Clubs / Special Interests / Black Alumni Affinity

Black Alumni Affinity

The Babson Black Alumni Affinity strives to maintain the bond between the alumni, the current students, and the college community.

The group works closely with the Black Student Union (BSU), the Office of Diversity, and the Alumni & Friends Network to offer networking, mentoring, and programs, including the annual Black Alumni Affinity Conference. Join our Social Media Groups on LinkedIn and Facebook​.

Annual Events

Homecoming and Reunion

A networking social brings together alumni and current students for the combination of brainstorming, recruitment for subcommittee members for the annual Conference, promotion of the Conference and purposeful networking in a social setting.

Annual Alumni Black Affinity Conference

SAVE THE DATE: The 2016 Black Affinity Conference will be held Friday February 26th and Saturday February 27th 

The 2015 Black Affinity Conference was held Friday February 27th - Saturday February 28th

This theme-driven conference was designed by a committee of alumni, current students, faculty, and administrators to present a program of professional development and networking.

Keynote Speakers

Liz Walker

Liz Walker
Liz Walker is an award-winning television journalist, a documentary film producer, an entrepreneur and a humanitarian currently working in the war-torn country of Sudan. Liz is on the ministerial staff of Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Jamaica Plain, where she works with young people. She is the founder and principal of The Walker Group LLC, Communications Specialists, focused on non-profit capacity building and corporate public engagement.

Nyema Tubman ’91

Nyema Tubman ’91
Nyema, a graduate of Babson College (’91), is a founder of Sundial Brands, Inc. After graduating Babson in 1991, Nyema worked to bring the healing traditions of African Black Soap and Shea Butter to global markets. Participants will hear about the entrepreneurial process and personal and professional journey of one of the nation’s well known natural consumer product companies, Sundial Brands. Participants will gain insight into how the Babson experience fueled Nyema’s​ success and prepared him to surmount challenges in a fast paced, rapidly growing economy.

2015 Alumni Achievement Award Winner

Dexter Williams M’98

Dexter Williams M’98
Dexter Williams M’98 has been an active member and advocate for the Black Affinity Conference since its inception in 1999. Additionally, Dexter has served on the Babson Alumni Association Board of Directors for the past four years. Dexter’s passion and enthusiasm for Babson and the Babson Black community has truly shown through is work and dedication to both the Alumni Board of Directors and the Black Affinity Conference. Dexter currently works as a Supervisory Manager for the Federal Reserve Bank in New York.

About the Black Alumni Achievement Award​

The Black Alumni Achievement Award was established in 2004 to recognize alumni who distinguish themselves in their given field as well as supports the college community around issues of diversity.

View Photos from the 2015 Black Alumni Affinity Conference.​

Black Alumni Affinity Group in Cape Cod

Black Affinity Committee

Lyndon Mouton '09, Co-Chair
Manny Whitfield '17, Co-Chair
Candace Armand '10 
Sadie Burton-Goss 
Matthew Cotty 
Flora Ekpe-Idang M'17
Katrina Fludd '08 M'10 
Jonathan Jones '06
Reggie Mbawuike '97 
Jennifer Pierre M'17
Taelyn Roberts '15
Ralph Saturne '06 
Frederick Tsa M'16
Alvin Wade '07 

Presented By 

Babson College Alumni and Friends Network 
Babson College Office of the President
Babson College Office of Diversity and Inclusion ​
Babson College Glavin Office of Multicultural & International Education 
Babson College Center for Women's Entrepreneurial Leadership ​
Babson College Black Student Union
Babson Black MBA Association​