Student Employment

Community Action Program (CAP)

The Community Action Program (CAP) is an opportunity for work-study eligible students to do community service for up to 20 hours a week and get paid for it through Federal and Babson work-study funding. Under the Reauthorization of the Higher Education Amendments, Congress mandated that 7% of college’s work-study allocation must be utilized in community service. This is a great opportunity to promote community service work while not sacrificing time that could be spent at a paying job. If you want to get a different type of experience, then this is a terrific way to do so. You are able to make a difference in the community or just try something different while still getting paid. You will gain real life experience at an agency, while at the same time gaining a greater sense of some of society’s problems and what can be done to help.

You can become part of the CAP program by contacting Josh Stevenson for an informational interview at jstevenson@babson.edu or 781-239-5565.

Positions Available

METCO Mentor Program, Wellesley, MA

Student Manager: Alex Woodhouse: awoodhouse1@babson.edu; Bryant Wu: bwu4@babson.edu

Times: TBD

A fun and exciting mentor program that pairs highly motivated Babson students with under-served high school students in the Greater Boston area.

 METCO MENTORING APPLICATION​

Barton Road Afterschool Program, Wellesley, MA

Student Manager: Taelyr Roberts: troberts4@babson.edu

Monday and Wednesday 3:30-6PM

A comprehensive afterschool tutoring and enrichment program for elementary and middle school children residing at the Wellesley Housing Authority.

 

Needham After School Program, Needham Housing Authority, Needham, MA

Student Manager: Dineth Siriwardane: dsiriwardane1@babson.edu

Mondays and Wednesday 3:30-5:30PM

A mirror of the program above for children who live in the Needham Housing Authority


Barton Road Entrepreneurship ProgramWellesley Housing Authority, Wellesley, MA

Student Manager: Alex Woodhouse: awoodhouse1@babson.edu

Wednesday 6-7:30PM

Babson volunteers will teach middle school children of the housing authority how to organize and run a business.


Framingham Entrepreneurship Program, Framingham, MA

Student Manager: Alex Woodhouse: awoodhouse1@babson.edu
Fridays, 4:00- 6:00pm 
Babson volunteers will teach middle school children of Framingham how to organize and run a business.


Needham Entrepreneurship Program, Needham, MA
Student Manager: Derishai Gordon-Staton: dgordonstaton1@babson.edu
Monday and Wednesday 3:30-5:30PM
Babson volunteers will teach middle school children of Needham how to organize and run a business.​​

 

Harvard Square Church Meals at Christ Church, Cambridge, MA

Student Manager: Autumn Hines: ahinescoombs1@babson.edu

Thursdays, 4:45 – 8:30 PM

Every Thursday, Babson volunteers serve about 100 meals to those in need and help clean up afterwards. 

 

Friends of the Homeless of the South Shore, North Weymouth, MA

Student Manager: Emma Rogers: erogers2@babson.edu

Fridays, 9-1pm

This agency consists of a food pantry, a clothing closet, a furniture bank, and housing for homeless families. Volunteers assist with a variety of tasks from yard work to painting to construction.

 

Cradles to Crayons, Brighton, MA

Student Manager: Maria Cobb: mcobb2@babson.edu

Fridays, 9:30-4:00

Volunteers will be sorting and putting together gift bags of clothes, toys, and books for children in the greater Boston area.