Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership Awards

The Martin Luther King Jr. Leader­ship Award honors members of the Babson comm­unity (students, faculty, staff, groups, or organ­iza­tions) who reflect Dr. King’s princi­ples and ideals in philos­ophy and action.

2021 Leadership Award Recipients

In a year that composed of a record-setting number of nominations, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Committee is pleased to issue the Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership to the following recipients. Congratulations to all of this year's honorees!

Alumni Leadership Award

Amanda Strong '87, Babson College Trustee

Faculty Leadership Award

Angela Randolph, Assistant Professor, Entrepreneurship

Staff Leadership Award

Tracey Reza, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Administration

Student Leadership Awards

Jaylen Bell '21
Shoaib Rahaman '21


The recipient of this award will have gone above and beyond the requirements of job responsibilities, organizational mission, or charter and will have raised the bar for those who follow in their footsteps. The recipient’s actions and behaviors in working either on or off campus for the betterment of the community should be in a manner consistent with the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. Written nominations must explicitly address how the nominee(s) have visibly demonstrated:

  • Courage and conviction in valuing differences
  • Commitment to “seeing beyond borders” by building inclusions
  • Acceptance of challenge and risk in achieving goals for the greater good
  • Compassion for humanity

Previous Award Winners


Zahira Perez ’20
Sienzhi Kouemo ’20
Larinda Cole, Undergraduate Center for Career Development
Donna Stoddard, TOIM Division
Aaron Walton ’83*


Duruo Murray ’21
Britney Aguayo ’21


Kevin Bruyneel, History & Society
Cristina Corrie ’19


Rachel Greenberger MBA ’11: Food Sol
Flora Ekpe-Idang MBA ’17
Mark Gagliardi MBA ’17


Tina Opie, Management
Shatiek Gatlin ’16
Nadia Mendes ’18
Khalif Heatley ’17


Kerry E. Rourke, Arts & Humanities
Taelyr Roberts ’15


Marjorie Feld, History & Society
Nitiya Walker ’14


Amir Reza, Vice Provost, International & Multicultural Education
Origins of Necessary Equality (ONE) Tower


Elizabeth Goldberg, Associate Professor, Arts & Humanities
Rayshawn Whitford ’12


Eliana Crosina, Director, Alumni and Friends Network and Service Programs
Miles Masci M’11


Burl Hash, Director, Sorenson Center for the Arts
Winfred Fields ’12


Mary Pinard, Associate Professor of English, Arts & Humanities
Monica Johnson M’09


Chris Kandus, Assistant Dean, Campus Life
Sarah English ’08, President, Black Student Union


Toni Blackwell, Associate Dean and Director, Student Diversity Programming
Asad Rahim ’07


Brent Damrow, Associate Dean & Director, Academic Services
Kit Yan ’06


Melissa Shaak, former Director, Student Financial Services and Associate Dean, Undergraduate School
Soriah Anvary ’05


Richard Bliss, Associate Professor of Finance