Office of Academic Affairs

Office of Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs is dedicated to advancing the academic mission and strategic priorities of Babson College.

The academic affairs team supports the Dean of the College to ensure the academic excellence and fiscal responsibility of undergraduate and graduate programs and the College’s faculty.

The office engages in ongoing assessment and improvement, is a resource for academic policies and procedures, and is responsible for accreditation and institutional effectiveness. The team supports faculty affairs and works closely with the Center for Engaged Learning and Teaching (CELT) and Babson Faculty Research Fund (BFRF) to provide faculty development, and fosters opportunities for academic scholarship, funding, and research.

Meet the Team

Director, Office of Academic Affairs

Laura Carfang, Ed.D.

Manager, Faculty Sponsored Research

Sandra Castaldini

Faculty Administration and Operations Coordinator

Maureen Paquette

Administrative Assistant

Joan Whalen

Faculty Awards

The Associate Deans of the Undergraduate and Graduate programs, along with the Dean of College, select five faculty members to receive awards for excellence in teaching. The year’s teaching recipients are:

Stephen Spiess, Arts & Humanities
Graduate Teaching Award: Gary Ottley, Marketing
BEE Teaching Award: Dwight Gertz, Management
Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award: David Sands, Operations and Information Management
College-wide Teaching Award: Kristen Getchell, Marketing

These awards are chosen by the members of the Babson Faculty Research Fund (BFRF) and the Dean of the College to recognize important scholarly work by faculty across the campus. The range of faculty scholarship at Babson ranges from the building of theories and frameworks to critical literary analysis. The audiences for the scholarly work we do include other academics, professional and practitioners in many fields, public policy makers, readers of literature and history, and even chefs looking for good recipes. The year’s Scholarship award recipients are:

Senior Scholar Award: Anne Roggeveen, Marketing
Multi-dimensional Scholar Award: Jen Tosti-Kharas, Management
Interdisciplinary Scholar Award: Mahdi Majbouri, Economics
Early Career Scholar Award: Babak Zafari, Math & Science
Early Career Scholar Award: Jasmina Hasanhodzic, Finance
The Bala Iyer Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship Award: Tom Davenport, Operations and Information Management

Tom Davenport, Operations and Information Management

Access the More in this section