profile image for Mary O'Donoghue

Mary O'Donoghue

  • Professor
Academic Division: Arts & Humanities
Mary O'Donoghue is a short story writer, novelist, poet, translator of Irish-language poetry, and senior fiction editor at the literary journal AGNI. As Professor of English, she teaches writing fiction, literature, and first-year writing classes. In 2023 she held the Charles A. Heimbold Chair of Irish Studies at Villanova University.

Mary is the author of the short story collection The Hour After Happy Hour (Stinging Fly Press, 2023); the novel Before the House Burns (The Lilliput Press, 2010); and the poetry collections Among These Winters (Dedalus Press, 2007) and Tulle (Salmon Poetry, 2001). Her short stories have appeared in many US and European publications: Subtropics, The Common, Granta, Georgia Review, Kenyon Review, Irish Times, Sunday Times UK, Stinging Fly, Dublin Review, and elsewhere.

Her translations of Irish-language poetry are published in volumes from translations in dual language volumes from Cló Iar-Chonnacht, Bloodaxe Books, and Yale University Press. She has been awarded fiction fellowships from the Massachusetts Cultural Council and residencies at Vermont Studio Center and Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

Academic Degrees

  • MPhil, National University of Ireland Galway
  • BA, National University of Ireland Galway

Academic Interest / Expertise

Creative Writing; Fiction; Translation; Poetry; Irish Literature; Literature in Translation; Literary Editing.

Awards & Honors

  • 2015 — Sunday Times/ EFG Short Story Award: Longlisted Finalist, Sunday Times UK/ EFG Bank
  • 2013 — Legends of the Fall: Short Fiction Prize, Irish Times
  • 2012 — Artist’s Fellowship, Massachusetts Cultural Council
  • 2012 — Artist's Grant/ Residency, Vermont Studio Center
  • 2011 — Julia Ward Howe Award. Finalist., Boston Authors' Society
  • 2008 — Faculty Research Award, Babson College
  • 2006 — Artist’s Grant , Massachusetts Cultural Council



  • O'Donoghue, M. (2023). The Hour After Happy Hour: The Hour After Happy Hour. Stinging Fly Press.
  • O'Donoghue, M. (2010). Before the House Burns. Lilliput Press.
  • O'Donoghue, M. (2007). Among These Winters. Dedalus Press.
  • O'Donoghue, M. (2001). Tulle. Salmon Poetry.


  • Pinard, M. O'Donoghue, M. Waterline Reading Series, (2013)
MoreGreen Chevron