Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership Awards

The Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award honors members of the Babson community (students, faculty, staff, groups, or organizations) who reflect Dr. King’s principles and ideals in philosophy and action.

A recipient is awarded in each of the following five categories: undergraduate student, graduate student, faculty, staff, and alumni.


The recipient of this award will have gone above and beyond the requirements of job responsibilities, organizational mission, or charter and will have raised the bar for those who follow in their footsteps. The recipient’s actions and behaviors in working either on or off campus for the betterment of the community should be in a manner consistent with the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. Written nominations must explicitly address how the nominee(s) have visibly demonstrated:

  • Courage and conviction in valuing differences
  • Commitment to “seeing beyond borders” by building inclusions
  • Acceptance of challenge and risk in achieving goals for the greater good
  • Compassion for humanity

For 2024, the winners were announced on February 16, 2024 and are listed below. 

  • Undergraduate Student- Haja Ba '24
  • Graduate Student-Rhesa Teesdale '23 MSEL '24
  • Alumni -Elissa Kalver '09
  • Faculty- Dr. Michele Brown Kerrigan
  • Staff- Lorien Romito


Zykera Steward '23
Santucee Bell MBA '23
Dana Francois MBA '19
Dr. Wiljeana Glover, Stephen C. and Carmella R. Kletjian Foundation Distinguished Professor of Global Healthcare Entrepreneurship
Dr. Sadie Burton-Goss, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer


Kai Lightner ’22
Judithe Registre MBA’22
David Heath ’05 and Andrew Heath MBA’12
Dr. Anjali Bal, Associate Professor Marketing
Dr. Shakenna Williams ’94, Executive Director, CWEL


Jaylen Bell ’21
Shoaib Rahaman ’21
Angela Randolph, Assistant Professor, Entrepreneurship
Tracey Reza, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Administration
Amanda Strong ’87, Babson College Trustee


Zahira Perez ’20
Sienzhi Kouemo ’20
Larinda Cole, Undergraduate Center for Career Development
Donna Stoddard, TOIM Division
Aaron Walton ’83


Duruo Murray ’21
Britney Aguayo ’21


Cristina Corrie ’19
Kevin Bruyneel, History & Society


Flora Ekpe-Idang MBA’17
Mark Gagliardi MBA’17
Rachel Greenberger MBA’11: Food Sol


Shatiek Gatlin ’16
Khalif Heatley ’17
Nadia Mendes ’18
Tina Opie, Management


Taelyr Roberts ’15
Kerry E. Rourke, Arts & Humanities


Nitiya Walker ’14
Marjorie Feld, History & Society


Amir Reza, Vice Provost, International & Multicultural Education
Origins of Necessary Equality (ONE) Tower


Rayshawn Whitford ’12
Elizabeth Goldberg, Associate Professor, Arts & Humanities


Miles Masci M’11
Eliana Crosina, Director, Alumni and Friends Network and Service Programs


Winfred Fields ’12
Burl Hash, Director, Sorenson Center for the Arts


Monica Johnson M’09
Mary Pinard, Associate Professor of English, Arts & Humanities


Sarah English ’08, President, Black Student Union
Chris Kandus, Assistant Dean, Campus Life


Asad Rahim ’07
Toni Blackwell, Associate Dean and Director, Student Diversity Programming


Kit Yan ’06
Brent Damrow, Associate Dean & Director, Academic Services


Soriah Anvary ’05
Melissa Shaak, former Director, Student Financial Services and Associate Dean, Undergraduate School


Richard Bliss, Associate Professor of Finance

Access the More in this section