Babson College will be altering regular operations due to the ongoing impact of the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award

Now Accepting Nominations

Nominate a member of the Babson community for the Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award today!  

The Martin Luther King Jr. Leader­ship Award honors members of the Babson comm­unity (students, faculty, staff, groups, or organ­iza­tions) who reflect Dr. King’s princi­ples and ideals in philos­ophy and action.

According to Amir Reza, this award was created 10 years ago by a member of the Human Resources staff. The award is tied into a celebration of the Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Day. The event includes a keynote speaker, a student competition, and the announcing of the award.


The recipient of this award will have gone above and beyond the requirements of job responsibilities, organizational mission, or charter and will have raised the bar for those who follow in their footsteps. The recipient’s actions and behaviors in working either on or off campus for the betterment of the community should be in a manner consistent with the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. Written nominations must explicitly address how the nominee(s) have visibly demonstrated:

  • Courage and conviction in valuing differences
  • Commitment to “seeing beyond borders” by building inclusions
  • Acceptance of challenge and risk in achieving goals for the greater good
  • Compassion for humanity

Past Winners


Duruo Murray ’22
Britney Aguayo ’22


Kevin Bruyneel, History and Society
Cristina Corrie '19


Rachel Greenberger, Food Sol
Mark Gagliardi M'17
Flora Ekpe-Idang M'17


Tina Opie, Management
Shatiek Gatlin '16
Nadia Mendes '18
Khalif Heatley '17


Kerry E. Rourke, Arts and Humanities
Taelyr Roberts '15


Marjorie Feld, History & Society
Nitiya Walker '14


Amir Reza, Vice Provost, International & Multicultural Education
Origins of Necessary Equality (ONE) Tower


Elizabeth Goldberg, Associate Professor, Arts & Humanities
Rayshawn Whitford ’12


Eliana Crosina, Director, Alumni and Friends Network and Service Programs
Miles Masci M’11


Burl Hash, Director, Sorenson Center for the Arts
Winfred Fields ’12


Mary Pinard, Associate Professor of English
Monica Johnson M’09


Chris Kandus, Assistant Dean, Campus Life
Sarah English ’08


Toni Blackwell, Assistant Dean and Director, Student Diversity Programs
Asad Rahim ’07


Brent Damrow, Associate Dean, Academic Services
Kit Yan ’06


Melissa Shaak, former Director, Student Financial Services and Associate Dean, Undergraduate School
Soriah Anvary ’05


Richard Bliss, Associate Professor of Finance​​​​​​