Recognizing the contributions of the Sustainability at Babson community.

Kaplan Sustainability Award

The Kaplan Sustainability Award is given every April, along with the Carpenter Award and the 4Cs Award. This award was created to honor Shelley Kaplan, who in his 12 years of service led the development of Babson College’s sustainability program, creating significant environmental, social, and economic value here at Babson. He was able to incorporate sustainability into all aspects of his work here at Babson, making a profound and lasting impact—not only in the energy, waste, and water that was reduced during his tenure—but in providing education and awareness of this important topic of sustainability to all who have worked with him.

The Kaplan Sustainability Award is awarded to groups or individuals of faculty or staff at Babson College who have advanced sustainability at Babson in one of two areas:

  • Sustainability in Practice
  • Sustainability Academics

Past Recipients of the Award


  • Sustainability in Practice: Steve Tolley
  • Sustainability Academics: Vikki Rodgers


  • Sustainability in Practice: Danielle Krcmar
  • Sustainability Academics: Michelle Graham


  • Sustainability in Practice: Liz Saumsiegle
  • Sustainability Academics: Sinan Erzurumlu

Environmental Studies Award

The Environmental Studies Award is presented to a senior who has excelled in courses within the Environmental Sustainability concentration. There are three factors considered for the award:

  • GPA within Environmental Sustainability concentration, and overall GPA
  • The number of Environmental Sustainability concentration courses taken
  • Faculty recommendations